Kale vs. Spinach

http://www.mynsp.com/esuite/home/lbrown

Kale has been the trendy new health food in recent years, and with good reason. But don’t forget about the old standby super food, spinach.

Looking at this graphic we made from information provided by USNews, there seems to be a reason behind Popeye’s obsession with spinach instead of other green superfoods — namely perhaps more fiber, protein, calcium and potassium.

You can’t really go wrong with either one. It’s one reason we include both in some of our products, like Nature’s Harvest.

Image

http://www.mynsp.com/esuite/home/lbrown

35 responses to “Kale vs. Spinach

  1. Thanks for the info! We forgot spinach was such a potassium powerhouse

  2. Wow! Interesting! I have a hard time finding organic kale in Canada – so I’ve been using spinach in my smoothies!!! Yay!

  3. I’m enjoying catching up with all your info/blog. Thanks for the spinach reminder :).

  4. I hadn’t realized that spinach had so much more protein and potassium. Now I feel even better about serving up spinach enchiladas for dinner last night. Thanks for the great info!

  5. Yeah spinich wins hands down in my book but Kale is the “new hotness” and trendy. What i have found though is that kale has a much better shelf life than spinach.. thats just in my observations.

  6. Wow!-Thanks for the great info!

  7. Reblogged this on Kmareka.com and commented:
    And in case you were wondering, spinach is the winner in the superfood faceoff with kale.

  8. Love your blog. I eat spinach almost daily, and did not know all that. Like kale too. Thanks much for the info. And thanks for liking my blog. – Corri at corricoaching

  9. Interesting read, Thanks! I have to be careful with Spinach as it is high in purines, which gives me gout :-( Kale is a handy green alternative, and keeps well!

    • there are always exceptions – and kale is fantastic – it’s great that you know your body well enough to know what it needs and what it needs to stay away from. Not everyone can say that.

  10. mymotherlied2me

    Great info!

  11. Thanks for the useful & nicely presented information! One caveat/caution : wash those greens well! The latest data on food poisoning show greens to be the most common source! Neither health nor pleasant…

  12. This article is so applicable to my recent diet. I have been eating a lot of spinach and kale salads lately. They are also both really good when added to stir fries. No reason to choose at all, just eat them both. :)

  13. Interesting, thank you!

  14. I love these foods! I even tried the Kale chips which are popular to make now and they were wonderful. The graph is great, thanks. Oh and thanks for liking my chemistry/personality weight loss quiz post. Hope you’ll feel free to comment sometime. I have fantastic followers!

  15. It’s the end of a long day, and I just read the title of this as “Kate vs Spinach” when I saw it listed in my e-mail, so I had to open it. Thanks for this information. I like both Kale and Spinach, and am happy to know more about both. Now, I’m getting off the computer to give my tired eyes a rest.

  16. Love spinach! It’s definitely more versatile too, at least for me. But when steamed, I like a 50/50 mix of both! Kale adds the chew spinach lacks when cooked!

  17. Very nice! Loved the information and the cute picture. Will be checking back on your blog for sure.

  18. Thank you for the nice analysis of vitamins, minerals, and macronutrients in kale and spinach. While spinach may win on these measures, what about phytonutrients? Spinach still wins on carotenes (carotenoids), but kale is one of the richest sources of glucosinolates, kaempferol, and quercetin. All of these nutrients are linked with decreased risk of cancer in people who eat kale and other cruciferous vegetables. I suppose the bottom line is tha spinach and kale are nutritional all stars, and we’d all do well to eat more of both of them!

  19. Any help / reason as to why my kale is going yellow? It’s in water (stems) but is turning yellow….::

    • Kale is a hearty green plant similar to lettuce. When its tissue begins to turn yellow, it may be infected. Bacteria can get into the plant through the plant’s water pores and turn the tissue yellow, according to the University of Minnestoa Extension website.

      Source:
      University of Minnesota Extension: Diseases of Cole Crops

      Kale, a close kin to collards, should be be used within 2 or 3 days, as these greens wilt, turn yellow and become bitter very quickly.

      Leaves that have turned yellow and shriveled should be discarded or the yellow cut away.

      Keeping your kale wrapped up in paper towels, and then putting it inside the produce bag will keep it for much, much, much longer. I’ve had kale stay perfectly nice for 3 wks this way–both from the grocery store and my garden.

      If you don’t think you’ll use it right away, kale freezes beautifully if you blanch it for 30 seconds first and then shock it.

  20. As someone who has just expanded her vegetables and had kale, I must say I love it! I also am a huge spinach fan! I love to grab it fresh, wash it and eat it as is! Thanks for this post!

  21. I’ve been thinking about adding kale to my diet. Great post. And thanks for liking my blog.

  22. I love spinach in salads and dips, but can’t find a way to love it cooked. I will continue to try. Thanks.

  23. I love them both,but I always assumed kale was the winner due to all of the hype surrounding it. Thanks for the information!

  24. Great post. I thought kale was superior as well. No wonder I liked Popeye so much.

    Thank you for stopping by and liking my blog. Do you have any suggestions for foods that will stimulate the production of dopamine?

    • thanks!
      Foods that contain phenylalanine or tyrosine and increase dopamine naturally include bananas and high-protein foods such as cottage cheese and meat.
      Watermelon also raises dopamine levels naturally. Apples contain the antioxidant quercetin that protects the body from free radicals that can destroy dopamine.
      Eating nuts and seeds, especially almonds, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds and sesame seeds, also help to increase dopamine levels in the body. Beans and legumes are rich in protein and also favor the production of dopamine, in particular lima beans.

      The natural herbal supplement from Nature’s Sunshine that supports this is Brain Protex

      http://www.naturessunshine.com/us/product/brain-protex-whuperzine-a-60-caps/sku-3114.aspx?actid=190085

      I hope that helps you.

  25. As far as I’m concerned, at least according to these numbers, Spinach more than double’s Kale’s performance. Thanks for the info and nice picture!

  26. thanks for stopping by … i grew up in a house hold where there was no Kale V Spinach just another collard waiting to be eaten !!

Leave a Reply

